The Sponsons Thread

dave

The Sponsons Thread

Post by dave »

sponsons header.jpg
When Bluebird crashed at Coniston Water, her sponsons were recovered floating on the waters surface, and taken ashore. I have heard that new sponsons are to be made.

Question:-
1) Does the existing one's still exist?

2) Have they been damaged beyond practical repair?

3) Have they been lost?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Renegadenemo

Re: Lakeland Motor Museum/'Across The Lake' Mock Up/Sponsons

Post by Renegadenemo »

I'd go with,

1. No

2. No

3. Scrapped
I'm only a plumber from Cannock...

"As to reward, my profession is its own reward;" Sherlock Holmes.

'It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.' W.C. Fields.
Terminator

Post by Terminator »

Oh ye of little faith ;)
Novie
"Never ride faster than your Angel can fly"
Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo »

Oh ye of little faith
Novie
You find 'em and I'll bolt 'em back on...

lsrdatabase

Re: Bluebirds Sponsons, 'Where are they now?'

Post by lsrdatabase »

Hi Dave and everyone,

This subject keeps cropping up and I feel it is about time it was put to bed for good.

I know I will not be popular with what I am going to say but, I've got broad shoulders that over the past few years, have had to deal with rather a lot of the brown stuff. (like you sometimes find on the soul of your shoe).

I know where the sponsons went and why. I have known for some years, but comparatively recent, it came to my knowledge that Ken, far from wanting them found and re-use,

DID NOT WANT THIS TO HAPPEN.

In actual fact it is uncertain as to whether Ken even wanted K7 raised or rebuilt.

I have stayed quiet, and have even tried to kill off this subject several times. Now however I must speak out, and dam the consequences. I have spoken to an acquaintance of mine who was close to the Bluebird K7 project, back in 1960's.