Dick Ransome / pre-crash damage to K7

Renegadenemo

Dick Ransome / pre-crash damage to K7

Post by Renegadenemo »

Sad to have to report that 'Big Dick' Ransome passed away yesterday. A big, jovial, barrel-chested elder of Coniston, I first met Dick when he worked in the engine room of Gondola - a crazy place for such a big bloke to move around. Then I visited his barn to have a look at his steam wagon and traction engine only to discover that the living room ceiling in his cottage wasn't much higher than Gondola's deck.
A cousin of Arthur Ransome, he had, shall we say, an interesting take on people who liked to dress as pirates and invade his front garden, but he was quick to get on the tools when he came to visit us in the workshop one evening.
A cracking bloke - and a very sad loss.
I'm only a plumber from Cannock...

"As to reward, my profession is its own reward;" Sherlock Holmes.

'It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.' W.C. Fields.
sheppane

Re: Dick Ransome

Post by sheppane »

Dick on the 4th of November 1966, watching as K7 is launched for the first time.
He is the large imposing guy behind DC. © Paul Allonby.
DR.jpg
He came to the rescue, with the Hadwins heavy tow truck, when K7, on the back of the Adams Bros trailer, got stuck in the mud on the 3rd of November. They fastened the tow truck to a tree, and then used the truck's winch to pull K7 to firmer ground.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
'When you go down into the arena, you know that sometimes, you're likely to get your nose punched. You do it with your eyes open. You take the risks'

Donald Campbell, Bluebird and The Final Record Attempt. https://www.facebook.com/bluebirdk7/
Terminator

Post by Terminator »

Sad news in deed Re Dick Ransome a gentle giant of a man. Eric Hadwin always said they had a great security man in Dick who would be up half the night burning the midnight oil.